Curbs from April 10 to 20, will punish violators: Karnataka CM | Bengaluru News – Times of India

BENGALURU: The Karnataka government on Thursday night imposed curfew from 10pm to 5am in eight major cities from April 10 to 20.
The curfew will be imposed in Bengaluru, Mysuru, Mangaluru, Udupi, Manipal, Tumakuru, Kalaburagi and Bidar. The announcement follows Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s video conference with chief ministers to suggest measures to contain the spread of the virus.
“All activities, except essential services, will be prohibited during the curfew period and violation of the order will invite punishment under law,” chief minister BS Yediyurappa said. “There will be intensive enforcement of masks and other Covid protocols in public places, including workplaces, by police, marshals and departments concerned,” the CM added.
No curbs on essential services

The movement of essential commodities and services will be allowed to function during the curfew.
Health minister K Sudhakar said, “There will be no trouble for travellers and commuters for inter-district and inter-state travel. The curfew is being imposed for only non-essential services and commercial establishments that remain open beyond 10 pm.”
These include hotels, restaurants, pubs and bars. He said the state will embark on a special drive of vaccination, Tikka Utsav, from April 11-14.

Source link


Sagar Biswas

Leave a Reply

Close Bitnami banner