Bengaluru scientist bags World Academy Of Sciences award | Bengaluru News – Times of India

BENGALURU: Prof Parameswaran Ajith, scientist with the International Centre for Theoretical Sciences of the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (ICTS-TIFR) in Bengaluru, has been awarded the inaugural young scientist award for frontier science (TWAS-CAS) in physical sciences, by the Italy-based World Academy of Sciences.
The award recognises outstanding young scientists from developing countries. “I was fortunate to have many wonderful mentors, collaborators and students who made my work possible. Modern science is a collaborative enterprise. This is particularly true in my area of research,” Ajit said.
His research spans physics and astrophysics of gravitational waves — ripples in spacetime whose existence was predicted by Albert Einstein a century ago, and first detected by LIGO observations in 2015. A member of the LIGO scientific collaboration since 2004, Ajith and his research group at ICTS-TIFR have made important contributions towards deciphering this Nobel-winning discovery.
Ajith pioneered a method to model the expected gravitational-wave signals from colliding binary black holes. Theoretical models calculated using this method are now being used to extract the properties of gravitational-wave signals from LIGO observations, ICTS stated.
His research group has also developed ways to test Einstein’s theory from gravitational-wave observations and to study the properties of black holes that produce these waves.
“This recognition of his important contributions to the LIGO discovery is a particularly singular honour. It is a matter of pride not only for ICTS and TIFR, but also for India, given how competitive this award is,” Prof Rajesh Gopakumar, centre director, ICTS-TIFR, said.
Sustainable prosperity

Based in Trieste, Italy, the World Academy of Sciences works to support sustainable prosperity through research, education, policy and diplomacy in developing countries. The TWAS-CAS young scientist award for frontier science was established in 2020 and is given to scientists not older than 45 years, from developing countries. The first edition (2020) of the award recognises achievements in the field of physical sciences.

Source link


Sagar Biswas

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *